NOTE: This complaint was sent to CoastalGuide in error. The only difference in our site address and the offending site was a hyphen!! The complainant left the hyphen out of the email address and the complaint came to us.

How important is this? SpamCop and other blacklists accept anonymous complaints. If left unresolved even false accusations can have our website effectively erased from the web!!

What can happen? SpamCop and DNS Blacklists


Complaint:

I visited www.xxxxxx.com and filled out the form for information to be sent via US mail regarding visiting the area. One of the required fields in requesting this information was my e-mail address. There was no option to say you did not want any e-mails sent to your address however, there was no indication that there would be any sent either since the message returned said I would receive visitors information via snail mail.

I just checked my e-mail and I have 25! e-mails from local businesses filling up my box. I deleted all after opening only one which stated that the e-mail was not unsolicited and was sent in response to my request for information about the region.

I really hope that my address has not been put on some list that you are distributing and I'll continue to get these unwanted e-mails and have to painstakingly "unsubscribe" from each when I never even "subscribed" in the first place.

I will not visit your website again and am very angry with the underhanded kind of way of doing business. Take my reaction as a hint that you're not making potential customers with this ploy so you should be up-front about how you're handling the contact information we're providing in the first place.

Please remove the following address xxxx@xxxyyyzzz.net from any database you've stored it in. You do not have my permission to use it in any way.

Sincerely,
Irritated Potential Tourist

CoastalGuide Requests Clarification:

I notice that you say you visited web-site.com yet you have emailed info@website.com (no hyphen). As this type of complaint (infrequent as they are) concerns us very much, would you visit the following form and let me know whether it is the one you filled in?

http://www.CoastalGuide.com/info/forms-db/nc/ftour-nc.htm

Sincerely,
CoastalGuide

Irritated Potential Tourist Answers:

The link you provide is not the one I was referring to. I apologize for upsetting you. I need to put a '-' between web and site in the e-mail address and resend.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

Sincerely,
Potential Tourist





   

Advertise    Write For Us!    Contact    forms faq        Legal & Privacy    submit your site or Event    Link To Us!